Personal Responsibility
Thoughts for today - what happened to personal responsibility? My husband is currently on vacation for the month of March - he works hard in the summer, so deserves a little R & R leading up to the hectic months. Anyway - I was picking up rent the other day, and one of our long-term tenants - she's been with us maybe 25 years, had an issue with her kitchen lighting. She only had one bulb working. When I entered the house, there were 4 young men, probably in their 30s or early 40s, playing video games. How in the world can she have son's, and support them, yet they cannot change a lightbulb. Crazy times.
Here's another case. We got hit hard with COVid in 2020 - lots of our tenants couldn't pay, or couldn't pay in full. We worked with them as we could, and did not charge late fees or anything. One tenant couldn't be bother to make any payments - even though she was receiving money from the government. So when the moratorium on evictions was finally lifted, we filed for eviction. Since there was such a backlog - the case wasn't heard until Dec 2 of 2021. She was to pay what she owed by Jan 2022. She did not. She didn't keep up on her rent payments, so I filed for eviction. Once she found out that I had filed for eviction, she finally started to look for assistance. She's now claiming hardship if she gets evicted - but what about the hardship I've endured for the past 2 years - her payments falling further and further behind, yet I'm the bad guy? I pay heat, hot water, water and sewer - everything except electric for lighting and gas for cooking - I pay for everything. Utilities are going crazy - and the amounts she does manage to pay doesn't even pay for her utility usage - yet I'm the bad guy.
I understand there are slum landlords, my husband is not one of them. I've seen him install marble bathrooms, and ceramic tiles in kitchens. He uses quality building material because he likes to see the job done right the first time. People like this tenant make me hate those that abuse the system. There are plenty that would love a unit like hers - and be glad to pay the super low rent we charge. We don't make money hand over fist, and we did not raise rents during COVid even though rentals are in very short supply. No one takes personal responsibility anymore. That's the bad part of the government giving away money - we always hear of social security running out of money - but never welfare. Never money running out that pays for illegal immigrants to have health insurance, yet for me to have the same I have to fork over $3K a month - and it doesn't cover anything !!
Personal responsibility - we have moved so far from it. We allow the media to tell us what to think, and who is right, and who is wrong. Critical thinking has fallen from the curriculum of life, to be replaced by complacently. No, I do not want any public-school teacher teaching my children about men sleeping with men, no matter what the age. School should stick to reading, writing and math and science - leave the rest to the parents.
Comments